Kanzashi in Progress

October 2, 2009 at 3:05 am 4 comments

D for Daphne

D for Daphne

So Sister Diane has inspired me in all things kanzashi…I swear I’ve been seeing them in my sleep. My good friend Erin Debri makes covered buttons with monograms and I thought they would look great in the center of some kanzashi blooms. I had a baby shower coming up for my cousin who is having a baby girl and they’re naming her Daphne…I’ll show you the finished project later this weekend, but here’s the beginning. I think I’m going to add a little fringe to the “D.” My mind’s eye sees the flowers on some sort of “stem” woven into the back of a basket…which will hold the rest of the gift. Much as I love paper, I don’t like using gift wrap…throwing paper away makes me sad 😦 Anyway, I’d better get back to my kanzashi dreams…I’ve got an early morning ahead of me. Do you think she’ll like the flowers?

Goodnight, HB

P.S. Get Diane’s book Kanzashi in Bloom…it’s awesome!

Entry filed under: blogs, books, kanzashi. Tags: , , , , , .

Getting to know you Moving on Up…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sister Diane  |  October 2, 2009 at 4:02 am

    Hey, thanks so much for the shout-out! I’m glad you’re having fun making Kanzashi. This one is gorgeous! I love the monogrammed button.

    Reply
  • 2. DudeCraft  |  October 2, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Nice! Love the colors. Aren’t those flowers a blast to make?

    Reply
  • 3. Amanda - VintageDutchGirl  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    LOVE it. It’s beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. Sandra @ Pepperberry & Co.  |  October 5, 2009 at 3:02 am

    LOL! I just love getting so into craft projects that you start dreaming about them. I do it ALL the time! I’m not so sure I should give Kanzashi a go… it sounds a tad addictive 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


